Andy Forsberg Wins Ocean Finale; Brad Furr Crowned Champion


13 Forsberg

(Watsonville, CA)Friday night at the Ocean Speedway, Andy Forsberg dominated the 30-lap Ocean Sprints Presented by Taco Bravo feature event, and Brad Furr put an exclamation point on the 2013 season as he was crowned as the series champion.

With 24 cars on hand, Auburn, CA pilot, Andy Forsberg, found his PT Shocks backed entry on the front row alongside Nathan Washam. When the green flag dropped, Forsberg motored away, and flexed his muscle as he quickly put distance between himself and the rest of the field. Behind Forsberg, Washman held down the second spot, as he felt pressure from Steven Tiner, and Koen Shaw.

On fast race track, Forsberg continued to lay down very fast laps, as his lead seemed to continue, as the race went green for the first 22 laps. Elsewhere in the field, Justin Sanders and Shane Golobic each began working their way towards the front from their fourth and fifth row starting spots, as Rico Abreu clawed inside the top five after a sluggish start.

Meanwhile, up front, Forsberg was flawless in lapped traffic and looked well on his way to the victory when second running Washam went for a horrific ride in turn four, but was able to climb from his car unscathed.
With just eight laps to go, Forsberg restarted but now had Tiner, Abreu, Koen Shaw, and Golobic right on his hear bumper.

On the restart, Forsberg was able to take advantage of a lapped car between him and Tiner, and break away, but the caution waived just three laps later, as Ryan Bernal came to a stop. With just five laps to go, and no lapped cars in between the leaders, Tiner looked a to get under Forsberg on the restart, but the 14-time sprint car champion was able to fend him off and pick up the win.

“It’s always fun to get down here and run with the Taco Bravo guys,” Forsberg said in victory lane. “John Prentice does a great job with this place, and I’m really excited for what he is doing with the future of the sport this coming year. I have to thank Cody Gainey, and all the guys who worked on this thing tonight.”

Tiner held on to second, as Abreu brought his Abreu Vineyards machine home in the show position. Prunedale, CA driver Justin Sanders took advantage of the two late restarts and powered his way into the fourth spot, as Golobic rounded out the top five. On his championship night, Brad Furr finished in the seventh spot.

The night started off with Shane Golobic setting fast time in qualifications, and heat races were won by Justin Sanders, Nicholas Ringo, and Ryan Rusconi, as Jerry Bonnema won the B.

The Ocean Speedway would like to thank Taco Bravo, Digital Delivery Networks, Nobel Construction, Get Som Sports, Ray Scheidt’s Electric, Hoosier Tires West, and Kaeding Performance for their support.

Ray Schiedt’s Fast Time Award- Shane Golobic
DDNi Hard Charger- Justin Sanders
Beer Optics Hard Luck- Nathan Washam

Feature Event Finish- Andy Forsberg, Steven Tiner, Rico Abreu, Justin Sanders, Shane Golobic, Koen Shaw, Brad Furr, Nick Rescino, Mitchel Faccinto, Ryan Rusconi, Nicholas Ringo, Nick Foster, Jr, Jerry Bonnema, Kurt Nelson, Jaime Duff, Jason Chisum, Jeremy Chisum, Collin Markle, Kyler Shaw, Jeremy Burt, Ryan Bernal, Nathan Washam


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>